LTWRAP 2023 Summary Report

Date                            : 17th-18th November 2023

Region                       : Asia and Australiasia

News Title                 : The 4th Biennial Global Leading the Way in Radiography and Radiation Therapy Advanced Practice (LTWRAP 2023) Conference 2023

Reporter Name:        A/Prof Sharon Wong (Chairperson, Organizing Committee)


The 4th Biennial Global Leading the Way in Radiography and Radiation Therapy Advanced Practice (LTWRAP 2023) Conference

It was an absolute pleasure to host the 4th Biennial Global Leading the Way in Radiography and Radiation Therapy Advanced Practice (LTWRAP 2023) Conference in Singapore from 17th to 18th November 2023.

This is an in-person international event made possible through partnerships with the Singapore Institute of Technology (SIT), National Cancer Centre Singapore (NCCS), Singapore Society of Radiographers (SSR), Society and College of Radiographers (SCoR), the Canadian Association of Medical Radiation Technologists (CAMRT), the Australian Society of Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy (ASMIRT) and endorsed by the European Society for Radiotherapy and Oncology (ESTRO).

LTWRAP stands as a beacon of international excellence in the fields of Radiography and Radiation Therapy Advanced Practice (AP). Our primary aim is to unite thought leaders and AP from across the globe. Together, we aspire to create a thriving community of practice where ideas, knowledge and best practices are shared freely, fostering advancements in our professions and inspiring the next generation of practitioners. After three years of uncertainties and countless adaptations across the healthcare continuum due to the pandemic, we are all so happy to be able to gather in person.  Thus, this year’s conference is aptly themed “Celebration!”

Conference Themes

The conference was meticulously structured around three key themes:

  • Celebrate Achievements: Delving into new implementations, roles, and directions in the field.
  • Celebrate Collaborations: Engaging with the APRT international community, collaborative efforts, and groundbreaking initiatives.
  • Celebrate Impact: Exploring the positive differences APs have made in their lives and the healthcare ecosystem.

This year’s LTWRAP attracted an unprecedented 180 participants from Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Ireland, Malta, Canada, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Thailand, Brunei, Indonesia, UAE, Philippines, and Turkey. Some of our conference highlights include:

Conference Highlights:

  1. International Speakers: Our program featured 8 international speakers who are outstanding practitioners and experts in their fields supported by our professional partners.
  • A/Prof Nicole Harnett (Canada) – The Pursuit of Happiness: Chasing Advanced Practice
  • A/Prof Jonathan McNulty (Ireland)- Creating the Professional Evidence
  • Dr Rachel Harris (UK) – Enhanced, Advanced and Consultant Practice in the UK
  • Dr Nicholas Woznitza (UK) Celebrate and Collaborate: A quarter century of UK radiographer Advanced Practice and what the future holds?
  • Dr Yat Tsang (Canada/UK)An Overview of the evidence for Advanced Practice and the ESTRO RTTC position on the future of AP for our profession
  • Rebecca Height (Australia) Implementation of APRT – Understanding perceptions, challenges and defining an alternative model of care
  • Dr Soong Yoke Lim (Singapore) – Impact of APRT Roles in the Management of Patients
  • Dr Charles Goh (Singapore) – Advanced Practice in Radiography – Can this make a difference to quality care?

2 The academic session: featured 18 insightful papers and Ms. Carol-Anne Davis from Canada won the hearts of our judges for her presentations titled :Examining Examsmanship:  The ‘je ne sais quoi’ of Advanced Practice. She won a free registration for next LTWRAP 2025 to be held in UK.  Congratulations!

*Abstracts for the full conference have been published in JMIRS.

3. Round Table Discussion: An expert panel of Diagnostic Radiography (DR) specialists from each country engaged in a profound dialogue on the current landscape of advanced practice, delving into challenges and in-depth implementation strategies.

4. Debate Session: The conference featured a lively and entertaining debate where two teams competed on the motion “The journey to being an APRT is a prudent choice and a worthwhile endeavor?” Moderated by Ms. Kristie Mathews from Australia, the session sparked insightful discussions.

5. Gala Dinner: The Friday night gala dinner provided a platform for networking, relaxation, and a collective celebration of the profession. The event also honored two outstanding individuals whose lifelong dedication has made a profound difference in the field of radiography and radiation therapy.

*Photos and video recordings of the conference can be found in the website or simply scan the QR code

Hospital Tour and Closing Remarks

The two-day conference concluded with a hospital tour of the National Cancer Centre Singapore- Radiation Oncology Department and the Goh Cheng Liang Proton Therapy Centre. The tour was a great hit, providing everyone with insight to some of the most advanced facilities and behind the scenes of a Proton therapy room.

The success of LTWRAP 2023 would not have been possible without the dedication of the organizing committee members. Their commitment, coupled with the partnerships forged and knowledge shared, undoubtedly elevated the standards of Radiography and Radiation Therapy Advanced Practice.  In conclusion, LTWRAP 2023 stands as a testament to the global unity and resilience of the AP community, setting the stage for continued advancements in the field.

Organizing Committee (Singapore)

A/Prof Sharon Wong

Ms. Sin Sze Yarn Vice Chairperson

Ms. Jeannie Lin

Ms. Nurul Tassha

Ms. Lim Liyun

Mr Muhammad Tarmizi

Mr Tan Han Min

Ms. Azizah Mohd Afif

Ms. Joyce Tan

Mr Ho Guan Da

Ms Denise Choong

Scientific Program Committee members (International)

Dr Kristie Matthews (Australia)

Dr Caroline Wright (Australia)

Ms. Mary Job (Australia)

Dr Nigel Anderson (Australia)

Mr James Harcus (United Kingdom)

Dr Rachel Harris (United Kingdom,

Dr Nicholas Woznitza (United Kingdom)

Ms. Jo McNamara (United Kingdom)

Ms. Kitty Chan (Canada)

Ms. Carly McCuaig (Canada, Editor of JMIRS)

Share this post